top of page
Search

Leontyne Price

I feel the need to give this woman enormous credit towards my career. Ms. Mary Violet Leontyne Price, was one of the first people that I started listening to, at the age of 13, in studying classical/legit music. A lot of things that I was cast in, were classical/legit music & theatre and she was my earliest influence. I was told that in singing Summertime, she was the standard to look up to. I am always amazed by the athleticism, the passion/love of her art-form and the amazing control/command that she had in her voice. I have sung for several orchestras and I never would've believed or dreamed growing up that someone who looked like me, would have such a career as a classical artist.


Born in Mississippi, Ms. Price was the first African American (Prima Donna) at The Metropolitan Opera House, performing there 201 times!


She's won 19 Grammys, numerous honorary degrees, and was named 4th as one of the best all time sopranos by BBC Music Magazine.


She was the first to build a career on both sides of the Atlantic.


Ms. Price wrote a book about Aida (which she also performed in), which influenced the Broadway musical, 'AIDA."


She also influenced numerous other classical artists such as, Renee Fleming, Jessye Norman & Denyce Graves.


Thank you Ms. Price for your tremendous gift to the world and allowing me to live my dreams!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page